2002-12-09

Priorities
I'm out of town. I'm enjoying the company of a friend I see far too sporadically, one who lifts my spirits and makes me laugh. One who gives me grief about being reduced to one of those friends who falls under the category of "Random Email Buddy" but doesn't really mean it. One who can pick up right where we left off when we see each other in person. One I love.

I may not exactly be considered old, but I have learned a thing or two in my time. First, do everything in your power not to tell anything other than frilly white lies, because they will come back to bite you in the ass 99% of the time. Seriously. Like, if you were to ponder over drinks one night that you've seen enough shows like Law and Order or Medical Detectives that you could finish your pint, leave the bar and off someone that very evening without ever getting caught, you'd be SO wrong. So dont, okay? I like my readers and I'm not sure what kind of internet connection you get from The Big House.

Second, do everything in your power to keep important friendships fresh and active. Emails are fine, phone calls are acceptable, snail mail cards work. In person is best. That personal vibe you get from sharing a joke over a bottle of wine just cannot be 'virtually' duplicated. There is no funny message in this entry, just some heartfelt advice. I'm in a heartfelt place today, people and God only knows, that's rare.

So be good, and keep the faith that I will continue with this Holidailies thing. I plan on it. I also plan on spending some quality time with someone who doesn't even read this journal. That's a blessing, come to think of it :)

See you tomorrow!

Posted at 11:33 a.m.