2002-12-05

Sushi: good for what ails ya!
I went to the mall today to whittle away at my Chistmas list. Let me amend that: I went crazy first, THEN I went to the mall. I must have been crazy to think that any day in the month of December would feature a shopping center free from Santas and screaming children and overheated crowds and too much cheesy merchandise on sale and not enough of the good stuff on any kind of sale and no parking spaces to speak of and and and...

Needless to say, I was also very cocky about my shopping skills. I felt I was so in tune with my teenage nieces that I would waltz in, purchase what I needed inside of 20 minutes and waltz back out without revving up that nasty twitch over my left eye. Wrong-o. I found about a gazillion things that were 78% alright, but nothing that thrilled me. I always like to get them things I would be tickled to open myself. I think I enjoy that privilege until I turn 40 and am officially a geezer in their books. Maybe I should just get four gift certificates to the local tattoo parlour and be done with it? Hell, I'll get one for myself while I'm at it.

By the end of two hours I was cranky and empty-handed and I wanted a stiff drink. The Boy suggested I call their mothers and beg for ideas, but I had mentally already pulled the pin for the day. He suggested sushi for lunch in a last-ditch effort to salvage my mood. I shouted agreement over my shoulder as I sprinted for the truck. Tempura shrimp and vegetables and a California Roll later, I was sated and once again a happy camper.

Ah, the healing power of sushi!

Posted at 3:53 p.m.