2002-12-03

Holidailies begins
Wow. December 3. Where does all the time go when you're unemployed, I ask you?

Oh yeah. It goes to sleeping and snacking and watching dvds and downloading MP3s and surfing and chatting. All very worthwhile endeavours. Before you start thinking what a lazy git I'm getting to be, consider this: I'm starting a new business and angling to start an internship in January. This blip of time inbetween leaving my old contract and starting something new that will take up my days is some much-needed time to decompress. Kick back, as it were. A little 'me' time. It's just difficult to see it as that when I'm so used to being stressed out 24/7. I used to come home from work and guard my free time viciously, as if it were evil to fritter away precious home time by doing such menial tasks as vaccuuming, for the love of God. My work environment was dysfunctional, and it's going to take a little while to work my mental way out of the space I was in. Hence the time off.

I also have Christmas shopping to do, and baking and decorating and visiting people I didn't make time for over the past three and a half years. Oh, and all this 'me' time? It's been playing havok with my perception of the relationship I have with The Boy. Not good. I actually saw my doctor about it yesterday. He sat back and told me he wouldn't refer me to a counsellor, as it was plainly obvious to him that I had already made up my mind. That scared the shit out of me, I don't mind telling you. I knew that some things had become very clear, but I hadn't acknowledged that I had made a decision. Maybe I have, I'm still not 100% certain. I do know we need to sit down and have a serious talk. That, however, will wait until the New Year. I am not about to throw my family into a tizzy about us during the festive season. And so I wait.

Hey, I got a new cell phone! I have officially moved into the digital generation! It's so wee I don't really know what to do with it half the time. I can hold 400 numbers in it's phone book; too bad I only have 40 numbers to put in it. I feel like a bad phone owner, underusing it's massive capabilities. Maybe I'll get more friends in 2003....

I handed off the old dinosaur to my Dad, who until last night owned one of the old phones that comes with a huge bag you have to lug around with you. Not very mobile, in my opinion. So he's happy with his new phone, and I'm happy chasing my bitty phone around my purse all the time. Happy, happy, joy, joy.

Posted at 9:22 a.m.