2002-09-27

Isidore's Wrath
"THE REMAINS OF ISIDORE TO BRING 50 TO 60 MM RAINFALL TODAY.

THIS IS A WARNING THAT HEAVY RAIN IS IMMINENT OR OCCURRING IN

THESE REGIONS. MONITOR WEATHER CONDITIONS.
.LISTEN FOR UPDATED

STATEMENTS."

It's cold and rainy and I'm still not wearing any socks. I refuse to give in to the weather because The Weather Network predicts 27C next Monday and Tuesday. I just know I won't truly enjoy them if my feet have known the softness of socks in the meantime.

My brain has been a whirling mass of thought fragments of late. And the good parts always tend to attack while I'm driving or releasing loans to a student or in the midst of an activity I cannot easily extract myself from to make a quick note. Hence, I get to this journal like a good girl, open up a new window and stare at it like a doofus. "The road to hell is paved with good intentions" my Dad always says, and the older I get the more I see the truth in that particular edict.

Thing is, there are so many (I think) great clips of thoughts that pass through this melon that I want to be able to remember and expound upon them later in my journal. Sadly, I also have a few pages of hastily scrawled ideas that, in the light of day, are nothing more to me than a jumble of letters held together with a thread of hope. Hope that I will get back into the writing groove. Soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

John Mayer - Check. Him. Out.

Run, don't walk.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have one sibling, a sister. While we had our share of hair-pulling, spitting, gouging out eyes fights, it was apparently nothing compared to having a brother. I have compensated for that by surrounding myself with men, most of whom seem to automatically view me as their weakling sister. I don't know how many bouts of teasing I have endured through the years, or how many elbows to the ribs I have doled out, but it must reach into the thousands. I used to love it, because it was attention. Any attention is good, right? Just like press.

These days, I find myself losing my thick skin and developing a tendency toward taking everything personally. The other night, I was out with The Actor, his Sidekick and Computer Guy. The Actor is currently 40 and alone. He is looking to hook up something fierce. So I got to sit there and swill pints while the guys all ogled anything in hip huggers. Yay.

Computer Guy pointed out a lovely blonde across the pub, to which The Actor noted that she had 'splendid breasts', which obviously put her in the running for that night's festivities. "Hey, she's drinking a Guinness!", the Sidekick brayed. "Well, that just about makes her perfect," said The Actor with just a hint of awe in his voice.

Mary, sitting opposite me, noted that I also was drinking a Guinness. I looked at her and said what I knew would be coming anyway, "I'm slightly flawed."

The Sidekick, caustic even on a good day, elbowed The Actor, saying, "We could have told you that!"

Damn. It's okay if *I* say it about myself, but those buttheads shouldn't take such liberties.
It's the Piscean in me, pigeonholing everything.

Posted at 9:23 a.m.