2002-08-13

A replacement doesn't count: my record stands
I sit writing this entry during my lunch hour at work. I usually take lunch at my desk so I can chat and surf and avoid certain people who make my blood pressure shoot drastically up. It�s mostly for the sake of the office that I keep to myself; how on earth am I going to work on the counter in the afternoon if the top of my head has blown off?
I mean really.

My lunch consists of, as it has since January 7 of this year, water, raw veggies, some cheese and protein. All part of my plan to shed the Fat Bastard-like pounds that have layered themselves slowly but surely over my frame. It�s been a horrifically slow process but my Mom and sister remind me that I didn�t put this weight on overnight, how the hell did I think it would come off in a flash? The Boy chimes in that if I would just exercise, the results would be certain to make me smile. Grrr. I understand I have to sweat and grunt and sweat some more, but I just can�t seem to spur myself on to do it on any sort of regular basis.

Anyway. My point.

I�ve been crunching away on cold celery on the left side of my mouth since the right side is in capital-P pain right now. Two weeks ago, I noticed sensitivity to cold in the lower right quadrant. That quickly progressed to include heat sensitivity and blossomed into the inability to take pressure from food of any kind. I�ve seen all those commercials for Sensodyne, so I figured if I just left well enough alone, the pain would go away and life could continue.
Wrong-O.

The water cooler by my desk used to be my best friend, but now it sits and mocks my every move. The last time I took a sip when I wasn�t thinking about my tooth, the pain nearly knocked me out of my chair. I was beginning to have second thoughts about leaving this thing alone. Last Friday, I decided to stop avoiding my dentist and put in a call to his office. They close at noon on Fridays. Fate telling me to stop being such a whiner, right? Right!

I went home and proceeded to have a lovely weekend. Except for the fact that I couldn�t drink juice. Or tea. Or eat anything crunchy or sweet or cold. The threats from my family escalated to the fact that if I didn�t have this looked into, I could be dealing with a Root Canal.

Well, those two words certainly struck fear into my heart. I haven�t had a cavity in over 14 years, and I sure as hell wasn�t about to stray into the realm of mouth surgery. I called this morning.

Turns out, they think just by my description of the pain that I probably have a loose filling that needs to be replaced. They also, wonder of wonders, had a cancellation and can take me this evening. Yay.

Posted at 2:05 p.m.