2002-06-17

Cry Me a River
June Journal Smackdown Entry Number Seven:

�Stupid things that make you cry.�

I don�t like to cry. I enjoy being moved, but not to tears. Emotion: good. Bodily fluids: bad.

The weird thing is, lately I find myself crying at the strangest things. Par example, the death of Dr. Mark Greene on ER. I knew it was coming, yet it took me three separate attempts to work through that episode. I was weeping like a baby, feeling such a sense of loss it was almost like losing a member of my own (extended) family. I knew good and well that the writers simply stopped writing his character, but it didn�t seem to matter at the time. I wept hard and long, all the while wondering if there weren�t some real life issues hopping on the Tear Train to be exorcised while the gettin� was good. I�ve yet to figure that one out.

I think the most normal, but at the same time the most stupid thing I cry at is being frustrated. And I�m frustrated a lot. The good thing about that is it�s an indicator to me that I�m always busy accepting new challenges, even if I sometimes bite off more than I can chew. I would rather not stagnate, thank you very much. I�ve always had a thing for learning, even if most of the time it�s self-directed.

Frustration presents itself to me in many forms, such as my high expectations of myself and those around me. Keep in mind, that way of thinking only serves to place you squarely in the middle of a perpetual snit, as most people don�t give a tiny rat�s ass what your expectations of them are. To make matters worse, I cannot find a way to let go of that destructive behaviour: to breathe, to just accept and enjoy those around me.
(Who, me? A Type A personality?)

Monumental emotions need an outlet, and some of them will find a way out no matter how much we try to suppress them. Ever heard of Mt. St. Helens? How about going postal? Yup, vent or pay the price. In the end, if part of venting means I must cry at the corny Kodak commercial, by the time the Tide commerical comes on, Ill be a happier, healthier person.

Posted at 1:55 p.m.