2002-05-02

What the hell's up with that, Doc?
Sometimes you just want to scratch your head and say, "Wha?"

That's what I felt like doing yesterday. I was sitting at my desk, innocently eating my lunch, when Phone Grrl passed by.

"You know, I saw a show on the CBC last night about how eating carrots will make you infertile." Then, after offering what in my opinion was possibly the most stupid comment of our time, she beat it back to her world, where her sky is almost certainly some shade of bubblegum pink.

Now, I'm a worrier. That's already been established here. Hence, I avoided the rest of my dozen baby carrots and exerted all my energies on disproving this cockeyed theory. I found nothing. Nothing. Nada. But did that stop me? God, no. I had to call my family doctor's office, under the guise of comfirming my appointment for next week's physical of course. Rather than give my doctor yet another reason to believe I should be heavily medicated, I opted instead to ask the kind lady who mans the switchboard. After the laughing subsided, she told me that, to the best of her reckoning, rabbits were quite fertile animals and considering their diets, I more than likely had nothing to worry about.

Then my Supervisor told me she found a mention of it on IVF.com. As I suspected, it had to do with a woman who was a militant vegetarian. My motto, "Everything in Moderation" proves once again to be an excellent credo by which to live.

Now, if I can only get The Boy to stop taking boiling hot baths every night, we're in business.

~~~~~~~~~~

Note to Anna:
hang in there, girl! It will all be over soon, then the good stuff begins :)

Posted at 11:20 a.m.