2002-03-13

My Headaches: More Than 10 Million Served
It's four weeks into my accupuncture/shiatsu sessions with Dr. George, and I finally have a headache on the day of my appointment. I'm happy, but also sad since obviously I'm in some pain right now.

My office is closed to students Wednesday mornings, but is open from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Teresa and I man the counter this afternoon. Damn. Dealing with those little pishers is challenging at the best of times, but my patience runs out at the drop of a hat when I'm distracted by the pain in my head.

I seem to be an enigma to Dr. G, since he can't really locate the source of my headaches. He actually went so far as to scratch his head in confusion last week. This is quite an animated thing for him to do, since he's usually very silent in all he does. He also smacked me in the back of the head by accident last week, then laughed out loud and rubbed the spot while he apologized. (Possibly he's warming up to me?)

I can't take many more Aleve today, or I'll end up in violation of the strict instructions I read on the back of the bottle. Not that I care about overdosing when each beat of my heart makes my head swell like Jim Carrey's did in The Mask. Kidneys be damned, I say!

My sister, she of the Broken Back, gets far more accupuncture needles than I do from our doc. Strangely, I find this to be a rip-off. You can't feel them going in, by the way, not even when they're heated first. Not that I'm complaining about getting a full hour of shiatsu massage for $36, I just want a little voodoo magic included in the price, you know?

"Don't let life discourage you; everyone who got where he is had to begin where he was."

This quote, compliments of Regina Rouge, is taped to the top of my monitor at work, where it has turned into my mantra. I know my life is going to turn around in the near future, I just need to reassure myself that I can tolerate all the shite in the present without jumping off a bridge before all the good stuff begins.

So, chin up, and all that crap.

Posted at 12:44 p.m.