2002-02-28

Impending B-day Angst
I'm stumped.

I have had countless hits resulting from Google searches over the past week, all having something to do with Nigella Lawson and her chocolate cloud cake. Has there been some sort of collective need to make this recipe? Some international brainwashing through the Food Network? It's a damn good cake, there's no question there, but the recent influx of people wondering about it is an interesting phenomenon.

I'm a little anxious today, as I will be busier over the next four days than I have been since my Christmas Shopping Push of December 17-21. After work today, I'm off to buy my year's allotment of RRSPs (Registered Retirement Savings Plan). It's still difficult for me to wrap my head around the wage I'm currently making, so sheltering that money is also a bit of a foreign concept. Thank heavens I've managed to hoard some cash after implementing a few austerity measures. No more living the high life for me, since this job isn't permanent and the bottom could fall out at any time. (A little ray of sunshine I am not...)

After that, it's off to the hairdressers, where I'm getting a wash and style gratis. Rhonda suggested it when I told her last week I was going out on a boozer tonight to commence birthday celebrations. She's great; hell, the whole damn place is full of wonderful women (and Rocco).

After swinging by homebase for a change of clothes, a swipe of mascara and a spritz of Ysatis, it's off to the pub. I've contacted quite a few of the old regulars, so I'm anticipating a real blowout where I can get caught up with some dear friends.
The Best Bit: I have tomorrow off, so I can push the boat out and let people buy me drinks ;)

The Boy and I are leaving town tomorrow morning to attend the Wood Show in Toronto. It's turned into an annual thing, since it makes him happy and Lord knows I'm never averse to taking some time off work for a trip. I've even managed to convince him to drop into the new Etobicoke Ikea after we check out Saturday. Then it's back home, hopefully in time to get Bailey from the kennel before they close.

Then, instead of unpacking and doing some laundry, ordering in some Vietnamese noodles and lounging in front of the telly with a couple of favorite dvd movies, I have to start cleaning and cooking.
For, my friends, I am an idiot.

I will be 35 on Sunday. For some reason, 30 didn't really bother me, and while I can't predict if 40 will cause me to melt into a puddle of age-induced hysteria, I can tell you that 35 is freaking me out. So, in order to distract myself, when asked what I wished to do on my Special Day (pah!), I said, "Sunday brunch at the Elm Hurst Inn, please". This place is known far and wide for its meals, and I haven't been there in almost seven years, so it would, in fact, fall under the category of Special To Me. Me, whose birthday it actually is. Sadly, there are those in my family who cannot afford to splash out on one meal like that. It makes me sad for a variety of reasons.

Hence, my bright idea to host a birthday brunch. For myself.

More sadness.

The idea went over like gangbusters, though. Everyone seemed to want to get on board, come over to my house and eat my food. So, since I had all of them committed to doing something on my day, I upped the ante and suggested we go bowling afterward. I'm not so sure the response was what I was looking for, but my niece Kate pulled it out of the fire when she went nuts for the idea. I love that kid.

Needless to say, come Monday, I am going to need a day to simply be still. My 35-year-old hips will be aching from the unusual use of muscle groups required to lob a laughably small bowling ball down the lane (hopefully mine), my house will be trashed by my loving family, dishes piled up to the light above the sink and I will be in dire need of a trip to Blockbuster for a few movies, then to the store for good quality chocolate. I plan to watch tv, eat, crochet, breathe and take the occasional trip to the head. That's it. Heaven.

Man, I have many high expectations for this weekend.
Let's hope at least a few of them deliver.

Posted at 8:24 a.m.