2002-02-15

The Year of Me
I swear, there are days when I want to end it all, and they are in the majority. Then, there are days like this past Wednesday.

Days like that are heaven-sent gems, complete with wondrous events that cause me to walk around with a stupid, dopey grin on my face. Days like that give me a renewed sense of my own worth.

Okay, to bring you up to speed: I called and made an appointment to see David and view the recording facilities. I took an extra hour that morning, primping and futzing and shining up my hip, happenin' black boots, ones guaranteed to impress. Not that image is everything, mind you. Personality and qualifications mean something, but in the end I truly believe you don't stand a chance if you don't appear to have gone a little out of your way to prepare.

Not that this was an interview, per se. It was more like guerrilla tactics on my part. Afterwards, I kind of felt sorry for David, as I really didn't give him much chance to shoot me down.

Aside: In the first Saturday edition of the local paper in 2002 was a special section on Horoscopes for the coming year. The Boy read his and got scared, for it told him of the trials and tribulations of our past 10 years together, laying out all the bad years we've gone through and telling us that we have officially paid our dues. Now, he's the World's Biggest Cynic, but you could see in his beady little eyes that the people responsible for this bit of fun in the paper had made an impression. Mine was equally on the mark, and also very rosy when referring to my future. New (lifelong) friends, new (satisfying) job, new (finally!) addition to the family, money, money, money. It's all making me a wee bit dizzy.

Not that I believe a word of it. For all I know, Miss Cleo could have herself a side job while she waits for her court date...(/ASIDE)

The studio is cool. The guy who runs it is cool. I leaned back on the couch as we were talking about promotional ideas/love of music/my past work experiences, and I attempted to be cool. I suspect it didn't fly, but I also think I got points for trying.

He liked my resume, and told me my timing couldn't have been better. He's expanding the business, and would most likely need a 'right hand'. We spoke of banks, small business loans and market research. We spoke of my future. And it was good.

This all isn't supposed to happen for a few months yet, and is contingent on the bank, but it's a ray of hope in my dingy little world. It's something.

So, back to my high-paying job from hell for the time being. I'd best pay off the credit cards so I'll be ready for the inevitable pay cut. But I don't care. I can almost hear my priorities shifting as I write this.

Hold on to your hats: this may turn out to be the
Year of Me :)

Posted at 12:34 p.m.