2002-02-07

It's Now or Never
I'm sitting here, paying a woeful amount of attention to the job at hand. Why? Well, it all has to do with an announcement one of my colleagues made yesterday at a staff meeing.

Interestingly enough, this was the same colleague who just last week was making a covert attempt to push me out of my current position. Well, she must have seen one too many Freedom 55 commercials, because she announced, to my complete surprise, that she was retiring effective February 28. Hmm.

Now, while most people in my situation would have sat there thinking 'whew, crisis averted', you must remember that I am somewhat of a freak. Instead of being grateful for retaining a job that pays better than anything I've ever had before, I've now started to investigate greener pastures.

Again. Yes, again. You don't have to tell me that I'm a low-down, yeller-bellied chicken. I tell myself that every day.

You see, there's this posty on the base of my computer here at work that taunts me Monday through Friday. It simply says "Dave - 859-####". To the general population, it could mean anything. To me, it screams out that I'm a loser for not exploring my options.
(For anyone who hasn't been reading, Dave is the contact name for the local music recording studio I've been prattling on about recently).

So, at the risk of being laughed out of their offices, I'm going to call David. This may be my last chance at a job even remotely in the creative realm.
My Last Best Hope.

I'm having a good hair day today, I've got my new boots on and they seem to have worn in a little and the colour of my sweater works really well with my zit-less complexion. It would seem I'm good to go.

Send me positive employment vibes; hell, positive anything, kids.

I'm goin' in.

Posted at 10:46 a.m.