2002-01-03

Crabby Moods
Well, here we are already at January 3. The last time I paid attention it was December 21, and I was just heading off on my 11 day (unpaid) vacation from work. Funny thing is, I would do it all over again regardless. Why? Because today marks the beginning of:

Mass Releasing!

Yes, one of three times in the school year when I have the pleasure of releasing student loans to 60 students per day for 18 days. It wouldn't be so bad if I were meeting those students on the Honor Roll or the Dean's List. I enjoy handing out the kudos to them. No, most often we have to smile through contact with kids who: 1. don't think they're getting enough money, 2. would definitely not be in the running for any Attendance Awards, and 3. have really boned up on their four-letter words.

Not that I'm complaining. Oh hell, yes I am. I appreciate the paycheck every second week, and the ability to work on challenging projects. It's the face to face counter work that makes me want to take my own life. Almost three years ago when I started here, I wanted to save the world one student at a time. I had kids sending me Thank You cards for the amount of effort I put forth on their behalf to get them more loans or bursary money. Indeed, some of them have gone on to great things in a short while.

Then there are (dum dum DUM....) The Others.

These are the ones who have been scamming since birth, and definitely saw me as a Sucker of Guinness World Record status. They worked me, cried, wove intricate tales of the woes society has inflicted on their poor little self-absorbed lives.
I fell for everything hook, line and sinker.

After being screwed over a few times, the import of one of my colleagues' credos began to sink through the scar tissue: "These kids will break your heart every time". Now, while this may not be true 100% of the time, it does bear keeping in mind. Because Lordy, has it happened. Brutally. I really don't like to paint any one segment of society with such a large brush, but in this case I find I must, if only in order to save my sanity.

Man, I sound like such a harpie these days!
I'm really not. Really. Trust me.

~~~~~~~~~~

In other, happier news, I got a Kitchen Aid food processor and a Canon A-20 digital camera for Christmas. Ahhh, toys. I'm still futzing around with them, but I managed to make a fabulous risotto with the processor and take some great shots of my niece with the camera. The only frustrating thing about the camera was the fact it took more than 20 mintues to explain to my Dad where the film goes.

Once I get the viewer software loaded on the computer, I hope to thrill you with mind-blowing pictorials. Or, at least some pictures.

I only wish someone had gotten me
PaintShop 6.0 for Dummies.

Posted at 8:05 a.m.