2001-12-06

Um, You're Reading the Motion Sickness Bag?
I have stuff to talk about. Really.

However, I've been having connection troubles at home. I suspect my ISP is slowly but surely phasing out dialup service, and I am holding out. I understand that my life will be made immeasurably better by having unlimited high speed service. Paying more than double what I do now is what's making the hives appear on my fingers and neck. Rat bastards.

These days, I'm having trouble getting a connection at all, let alone keeping it for any sane length of time. They're smoking me out, I know it. They figure if they piss me off enough, I will give in and pay the extra money. Well, the truth is that I can't in good conscience pay $55/month for cable and then add $40/month on for internet. That's way too much time in a chair, my friend.

Holidailies is turning out to be a great idea. I'm getting turned on to all sorts of new journals. Sadly, I already have 38 to read. I hardly have any time lately to satisfy my Shiny Paper Addiction. I have to stuff magazines into my bag and read them in odd places where I can sneak in an article or two.

My family doesn't think that's strange at all, since I've always been seen lugging around reading material of some sort since I was old enough to appreciate the written word. I actually have report cards from Grades Five and Seven that said I read too much. Too much??? I finished sketching the life cycle of rain or the route of Radisson and Groseillers, so I'm going to stick my nose in my copy of The Thorn Birds if you don't mind. Sheesh. I would hope teachers these days are more encouraging when it comes to recreational reading.
(If the province-wide test results I heard on the radio this morning are correct, they aren't).

When I find myself in a literature-free zone without ready supplies, I've been known to read an abandoned copy of The National Post or the back of a cereal box. I can read in the car, which nauseates my sister and my Nan. They can't even look at me while I'm doing it, or the chunks threaten to fly.

On a less messy note, go see Dana's new haircut. It really suits her.

Christmas Card Update: 8 down, 23 to go. *sigh*

Posted at 1:15 p.m.