2001-12-05

Trying to Deck the Halls
My mother has always said I'm a Christmas Junkie. When I used to work at the hospital, all the unionized staff would get Remembrance Day off, so we did as well. Every November 11 would find me digging into the totes that The Boy had lugged down from the attic, carfeully unwrapping item after item for careful placement. A little bit of Christmas leaked into each and every room of our house. Often, I would turn out all the lights save for the nest of clear little guys arranged on the top of the entertainment centre, light candles, make some hot chocolate in one of my white and gold holiday mugs and enjoy my evening.

Here it is, December 5, and I'm woefully behind.

It's not even that that bothers me so much, it's the reason why that irks me. It's that this particular November 11 isn't like any past November 11. It's that, as much as everyone is saying how important it is to get back to normal, it isn't that easy. It's that, there will be so many people this year who won't have a happy holiday. Every time I think about addressing cards and putting up garland, I take a moment to think about those lost over the past year. And it's good to remember, I think.

Each year I make some quiet New Year's Resolutions. Last year, I batted 1000 on them, too. Lose weight, join a gym, start a journal and learn (partially, at least) HTML. Those were all very specific items, and they worked for me last year. This year, however, I'm going for something a bit more spiritual.

I want to find joy again. I want to set out on a voyage to discover my truth. I want to drag my everyday life kicking and screaming into the light. I want to wake up smiling each day and lay my head down smiling each evening. I want to make a difference in the life of someone else. I want to contribute. I want to create.

This year is going to require more strength, methinks.

Posted at 6:19 a.m.