2001-12-03

The Santa Theory
As much as you think you can learn from those older and wiser from yourself, never forget that incredible observations can come out of the mouths of babes.

My niece Jennifer was once described by someone in the family as "five going on 30". Now 13, she's already been a vegetarian for five years, she's a serious supporter of the environment and could probably act as the Canadian UN Goodwill Ambassador tomorrow with no trouble.

She's never really forgiven her Mom for breaking the news that there is no Santa. So what does this smartie-pants do? She comes up with a theory.

"I don't think there's a Santa that flies around the world delivering presents; I think Santa delivers miracles. He prevents bad things from happening. He listens to your thoughts and wishes and makes some of them come true.
He's the spirit of Christmas."

I wish more people would subscribe to that theory. I wish more people would try to make miracles happen for others. I wish Christmas were less about the mall and more about our fellow man. I wish a lot of things.

I'll just have to depend on Santa, I guess.

Posted at 6:24 a.m.