2001-12-01

A Journey of a Thousand Miles
Begins with the First Entry

Well, I'm committed.

I realize you're thinking I've made a mistake, and what I meant to say was I should be committed, but you would be wrong.

I've just emailed Jette to sign on to the HoliDailies ring. One entry per day for the entire month of December. Argh.

My house is in a shambles, my Christmas cards are not addressed and my gift shopping is not nearly done. Yet, I feel the need to increase the frequency of my entries here. While I realize there's not much going on in my life, I also recognize that a talented writer should be able to mould even the smallest incident into a gripping tale. As I mentioned before, I want to be that talented writer.
Or die trying.
So here I sit.

Today, I have spent in this chair at this computer. Today has been all about my internet friends. I purused my address book, entering email addresses into the Amazon Wish List finder. Of those I found, I randomly chose three and sent them a treat. Completely out of the blue. I hope I don't freak any of them out, but I did include a gift message with my name, so it should be alright.

I'm actually a little indignant about this whole 'gifting' thing, after reading the thread at ThreewayAction. I have gone so far as to put up a wish list of my own, but it's mainly to give The Boy a reference. My Mom has always said I'm the best person to give gift certificates to. Remember Sally from When Harry Met Sally? I'm so her. (I also enjoy shopping, and this is better than window shopping; easier on the feet and cheaper parking). If I want to play Secret Santa to a friend, or to a journaller I enjoy, then it's nice to have that option. I'm thinking the anonymity thing should be a relief for those who are somehow bothered by the fact that gifts are being delivered to their doors....

Anyhow, here it is, my first entry of December. Please visit some of the other sites on the ring. You'll be glad you did.

Happy December!

Posted at 5:20 p.m.