2001-11-22

Have Your People Call My People
I'm constantly amazed at the path your life can take, if only you stop and look around. There have been periods of my life when I've been so certain of how to proceed. Thinking back, I probably missed out on fabulous relationships and life-expanding experiences. All because I was stubborn and didn't let Life lead me.

I've been feeling some regret lately.
The path not taken, and all that.

What's gotten me thinking along these lines have been the events of the past week. As the treachery in my office continues to run rampant, I've found myself quietly asking the universe for deliverance from this place. Not cursing my job and those around me, not taking to the drink to escape the stress, not even giving in and resigning myself to a life of student abuse. No, I shall take the high road, thank you.

These feelings of lightness, of goodness, of peace and tranquility must be translating to how people see me. The employment vibes must be working overtime for the first time in a long time. This week, three distinct opportunites have presented themselves to me, large as life. Only one is actually a job posting, the other two are a little more ethereal. I'm going to have to work at them, massage them a little. I'm going to have to make some people wonder how they got along without me.

To be honest, I'm looking forward to the challenge.
I haven't schmoozed in a long, long while.

Posted at 7:07 a.m.