2001-11-17

The Art of the Grovel
Well, I made it.

I can't in good conscience say I followed a strict vegetable fast, but I came damn close. And I feel better for it. I might try it again in the near future. I highly recommend it.

In other news, I got some pics back from Sarah and Mike's wedding reception of November 4. Taking candid photography is not an exact science, and I'm glad I made that known before I began shooting. That said, I did manage to get a few goodies:

~~~~~~~~~~

Here's an example of how I apologize to a friend when I've pulled a Monica:

Date: Fri, 16 Nov 2001 13:41:45 -0800 (PST)

From: "Meg"

Subject: An excuse I REALLY didn't want to have to give.

To: "James"

James,
You know when you get home from work and you've had a really hard day; hell, hard week and you have laundry to do and dinner to make and dishes to do and once all that's done you think you'll just put your head down for a few minutes to get a second wind and prepare for the lovely evening you're really anticipating? And you know how that cat nap turns into a Rip Van Winkle tale and you sleep for what feels like a hundred years? And you wake up all sweaty and disoriented, with the couch wrinkles making bizzaro maps across your face and you're all sore from the pretzel position you've wound yourself into?

No?

Well, do you know how embarrassing it is to have to admit to such behaviour and give in to the undeniable conclusion that you're getting o-l-d?

No?

Damn. I guess it's just me then.

xo

p.s. give me another chance and I'll not only charm you with my company, I'll throw in a copy of the latest cd I'm working on, the "Moody Mix". Oh, and beer. Lots of beer.

p.p.s please let me know if I have grovelled enough :)

~~~~~~~~~~

I'm sitting here looking at a couple of extra copies of the above-mentioned cd, so I'm also thinking:

The first person to email me and tell me why I had to have surgery in the past year gets a copy.

Posted at 9:11 a.m.