2001-10-18

JournalCon envy
Good Lord.

I'm reading all these entries about this year's JournalCon, and I'm making up little movies in my head about what went on. Kinda Monty Python-ish, where there are still pictures, but the mouths move, you know? Why yes, I'm perfectly aware I need help and probably medication, thank you.

A source who wishes to remain anonymous showed me some JC pictures, and it looked like this year was a hoot. I'm hearing all these little inside jokes and half-stories that those in the know understand.

I feel left out. I feel like crap for not even considering attending. See, I'm a fraidy-cat when it comes to things like travelling on my own to a strange town and meeting people I've only ever read.

What I've loved about a lot of the entries is other journallers admitting that they had reservations about the whole 'meeting face to face' thing. It's nice to know I'm not the only one who worries.

Expanding my horizons should probably be one of my New Year's Resolutions for 2002. Then again, I could also hope that next year's JC is set for Toronto. But, you may well ask, isn't that just taking the easy way out?

You betcha.

Posted at 12:29 p.m.