2001-10-17

I. Have. Had. Enough.
Today, I cracked under the pressure.

The lack of support by management here at work is staggering. Presidents and Vice Presidents believe any old load of shite agitated students dish out, for fear of losing their almighty tuition money. I cannot get on board with that behaviour.

Renewed networking began in earnest last night at the hairdressers. Heather told me to bring in a resume, and she would have everyone in the salon keep their ears to the ground about upcoming positions. She will also give one to her partner Matt, and have him do the same with the Owner/Operators he runs with.

But today was different.

I finally called my old temp agency.

I had been half-heartedly emailing Patti over the past few months, trying to iron out the Conflict of Interest issue we've found ourselves in. They placed me here more than two years ago, and apparently it's not cricket for them to look elsewhere on my behalf when I call them to tell them my present work environment is not one in which I am flourishing. I think it's all crap; they aren't taking me on full time, I have been hanging on month to month for long enough. Lack of job security should be a good enough issue to void the 'conflict' aspect of things. All will be resolved next week, when I'm making an early-morning appointment with her to speak face to face. I feel liberated just making that call. (Yay me).

Shopping and cleaning abounds for the dinner party we are having this Saturday. The only thing worrying me is the leak I found in the Tea Room ceiling this morning, conveniently located directly above my china cabinet. Damn this rain!

I don't know if reading Oprah's magazine is making me stronger and more sure of my actions, or is simply filling me with psychological plaque. I want to make positive steps forward, but as far as finding my 'truth'; how the hell does one do that? Does it come to you in a dream? Do elves leave it under your Christmas tree? Bolt of lightning?

Knowing my luck, it's probably hard work and being honest with yourself.

I knew it wasn't going to be that easy.

Posted at 12:33 p.m.