2001-10-04

Linens, Alibis and Illness
Nate and I went to Winners on the lookout for Thanksgiving linens. Luck followed me in the door, to the tune of a Ralph Lauren 'Cargo Green' tablecloth with eight matching napkins for $66! I'll own that stuff for years. Sharon from the office is having a yard sale this Saturday, which I cannot attend, what with the tons of preparations for Thanksgiving and all. I asked her if she had any silver teaspoons for sale, and the answer was yes! I got six for $20. If only I had the same luck in employment and pregnancy. Hee.

On the bad side of things (and you know there has to be a bad side of things), it turns out that my only use to some people is as an alibi. I won't get into the gory details, but I got invited to a long-overdue dinner tonight. My role is to prove that Someone was out with me, and not with Someone Else. I decided to go anyway, but I'm getting one of those 'rescue' phone calls about an hour in. I just don't think I have the emotional strength to open up a large can of worms; I'm SO not into confrontation. It certainly does make me sad, but c'est la vie, eh?

Nate called me at work today to tell me that he gave away the Chill 2001 cd-mix I made him as an impromptu birthday gift. I'm flattered, but I also got another order for three more. Oh well, I guess I should give myself credit on the jewel case cover if they're going to be distributed. I haven't had the chance to go to The Art of the Mix yet, but I hear it's a kick-ass site. I did spend hours last night making up yet another new mix for Nate. Ensuring the proper songs show up in the correct order to achieve the right ambience is hard work, people.

I suspect I'm getting a cold. This is hovering at around 2% away from being a certainty. There isn't a session of "Mass Releasing" of student loans when I don't come down with some form of illness. I'm sure it comes from handling the I.D. of kids with colds/flus/viruses. Hmmm, maybe it's from the kids who wait until they're right up at my desk before they cough/sneeze/hack up phlegm without covering their nasty little mouths. I don't recall being as immature and irresponsible as the kids I provide a service to.

(I probably have a selective memory, but who knows).

Posted at 1:34 p.m.