2001-09-14

Feeding my Habit
I was standing at the printer just now, on the ground floor of the local college. Looking out the window, I saw a cloudless blue sky, my favorite.

Then, without warning, I wondered what I would feel like if I looked out the window and saw a jet heading right for me.

I hate this.

I can't give blood because I have a sinus infection right now. I'm too far away to help those passengers stranded in Toronto. Giving mere money at this point seems a waste of time when there are obviously more urgent physical matters to attend to. I feel useless.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I went against my better judgement yesterday and gave a very mature reply to an email from a friend. I'm not putting out 80% of the effort in this relationship. That goes for our other Married-with-Kids couple. It's not always going to be me making the arrangements, following up etc. I used to let stuff like this eat a hole in my stomach, but no more. It would seem I'm growing up...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tomorrow night is The Boy's belated birthday dinner. His sister and her family will be joining us at one of the local Greek eateries. I'm looking forward to some spanikopita and baklava. I got us a reservation on the patio, which sounds a little nippy this time of year, but has huge space heaters that look like streetlights. They also have a cat that skulks around out there, adding to the ambience. Heidi greets her customers at the door, and she always meets me with a smile and hug, as if I were a guest arriving at her house for a meal. It may not be the most sincere thing I've ever witnessed, but it works on me; I like the attention.

The first year we went there, The Boy ordered a cheeseburger. A cheeseburger. Argh. Thank heavens I've been able to expand his horizons a smidgen over 10 years.

Before dinner out, I'm going shopping. With Nate. I'm excited to have not one, but two coupons for 15% off each, and the saleslady told me two weeks ago that I could use both at the same time, a rarity. I don't make good clothing decisions by myself, so I like to take along an Objective Observer. I think I've gotten over my shopaholic tendencies, but there are still times when leaning over to pick up the bag of my purchases is a true high.

Maybe I'll go all the way and get some new shoes :)

Posted at 9:14 a.m.