2001-07-31

~Foodie at Heart~
My life is a mess, but I eat Cheetos with a toothpick.

There are moments, usually when I'm away from the computer, when I ponder what I feel are deep thoughts. Not Jack Handey-type deep thoughts, mind. The real thing. Go figure.

It would seem that since I can't make my life work the way I want, I will make myself feel infinitesimally more in control by eating my food the way I want to, damnit.

I make piles consisting of one of each thing on my plate. Homemade hor d'oeuvres, if you will. I eat the afore-mentioned Cheetos with a toothpick, so as not to give away the fact that I've inhaled an entire bag while watching a rerun of Trading Spaces for the gazillionth time. I add and shake off chip dip/salsa until I achieve 'perfect coating'. Apples are cored and the nasty centres shaved out with a paring knife, grapefruits are peeled and the horrid rind cut off. This is a process that takes around 40 minutes and leaves my fingers all pruny. Etc and so on.

Just why am I letting you in on what freak I am? Good question. I guess I'm looking for someone out there to empathize. I'm betting I'm not the only one with weird food-psychosis skeletons in their pantry.

Hey, maybe if I work a little at easing up on the food thing, I can use that energy to get more of a handle on the rest of my life? Hmmm.

What's that girl up to??


Reading: Still on Eden Close by Anita Shreve. It's compelling reading, folks.

Links:I read this before making this journal

Buying: A much-needed facial after work. I'm trusting a new place, since my friend Dale isn't back from her maternity leave yet, and it doesn't look like I'll get to see the little peanut until the end of September. I'm not sure how I feel about handing over my face to strangers.



[�Have some serious time to kill? Go here for discussions on anything from Politics to PCs and Peripherals to Petty Bitching (that last one was my creation).�]



Posted at 1:14 p.m.