2001-07-17

I'm not Ahh-nold, but it's a start
Note to self: Lift with your knees!

I'm tired today, but it's a good tired.

I called the fitness center here at the college last week to sign up with a "Personal Trainer". Yes, I've decided to get another gold star beside yet another New Year's Resolution. Having lost a few (and I mean a few) pounds as a result of the surgery, it only made sense to try to keep the momentum going.

When I think of a Personal Trainer, I think of Jake, that hulking man from the infomercials. Aggressive, encouraging but sometimes more like a Drill Sargeant. Yesterday, I was lucky enough to meet Russ.

Shy and retiring, Russ shook my hand confidently and led me into the office for a short pow wow on my Workout Goals. I simply pointed to the spare tire around my middle, and to my Gramma Arms. Things got off on the right foot immediately.

Since I've been through this 'healthier lifestyle' thing on and off through most of my adult life, I have a lot of information tucked away. I think I asked more far-reaching questions than he was expecting from an old woman shaped a little like a Weeble.

We played around on the cross-trainer, the recumbent bicycle, the rowing machine and the treadmill, then it was off to the rough stuff: weights.

The Leg Press machine was the first. Russ checked me out, then said (kindly) that we would start out with 85 pounds and see how that went. Piece of cake. With a rasied eyebrow, he pumped me up to 100. No sweat. Alright, he said with a smile; 140. That was the magic number. By the 18th rep, I was making piggish, snorting noises. Not very ladylike, but I did make quite an impression :)

I have to go through the whole enchilada 11 more times before August 16, when Russ said he is looking forward to seeing a slimmer, more toned me.

I feel good about doing this, but more importantly, I want to Thank God for Tiger Balm!

Posted at 10:14 a.m.