2001-05-29

Playing Catch-Up
SURGERY COUNTDOWN: 3 days

Note to self: Smile!

I have started to pay attention to my skin, now that I've entered my thirties. I am a Marketer's Dream, buying anything that promises to increase the moisture content of my face, or help retain elasticity, or give me a glow not unlike Heather Locklear.

However, I'm also learning as I age. I've learned that I could probably achieve most of the above simply by drinking scads of water and avoiding the sun. Duh.

The wrinkles thing is related to my powers of observation lately. Did you know that there are many older women walking around with scowls etched into their features? That is their permanent complexion unless they make the effort to twist everything into a smile. That is so not what I want. The edges of my mouth naturally turn down, so I find myself making the effort to at least stay neutral most of the time. I think this may be a good topic for 3WA...

All of my frenzied crocheting to get both baby afghans done before seeing my cousin and her newborn twins wasn't enough. I still have two balls of yarn to go on the second one, and Mom just called to say we would probably be seeing them tonight. Rats. I will never manage to be Martha Stewart. I'm always 3/4 done everything. Although, I've heard a story about the Persians who wove their rugs and always left one or two knots tied wrong. That way, no rug is ever perfect. There's something to be said for that.

Last minute preparations for the surgey are ongoing. Like, cleaning the house because Mom will be at the house into the evening on Friday, and with me being unconscious and all, the embarrassment wouldn't hit until the next day if I let her see how we live. Grocery shopping for things like pudding and tinned soup and baby food and creamsicles, all things that rarely, if ever, make it onto my weekly list.

There are so many things I don't know about what's going to happen to my mouth, it scares me. I caught the tail-end of one of The Operations on TLC which was about tonsillectomies, but it wasn't exactly chock full of information. I've been told to do the research after Friday, for fear I would back out. Not bloody likely. I need to sleep, and I feel my snoring getting worse the older I get. Sore throats, migraines, bad memory, hypertension and obesity...I'll be glad to see the ass-end of them!

Work is starting to gear up. Applications for September are starting to come in now, even though our institution isn't off the exclusion list for cost codes. At this rate, it will be five or six weeks before editing of apps can begin in earnest, and I will have been back for three or four weeks if things go as planned. It's always daunting to look at the beginning of a new school year from May's perspective.

The sun is out. I'd almost forgotten what it looked like. All this rain is good for the grass seed that we have sewn under the big tree in the backyard, and beside the house, though. The torn off shingles that couldn't fit into the dumpster killed all the grass and encouraged all the weeds to flourish. In true Piscean denial fashion, I figured that lopping off their little heads with the lawn mower would, if not solve the problem, at least minimize it. Wrong-o.

Patti is off to Vegas with her man. Well, he's not really her man, but I covered that in an earlier entry. I'm not going to be bitter about this, I'm not going to be bitter about this, I'm not...

Cat is back from Germany with her new man. I'm hoping to pop out to the pub tomorrow night to meet and greet. One last night to tie one on.

The computer is back from Alex's. Power DVD works like a charm, and Nero is helping me to burn CDs. I'm turning into a geek. If only I could get down to the business of learning HTML, I would be a happy girl. *sniff*

Well, aside from the lovely sheet set I got from Costco with the pattern that incorporates the sage green from the duvet cover perfectly, that's about it. I'm just counting down, getting more and more nervous. Damn, everyone thought I was being so heroic about this surgery, too.

Posted at 1:26 p.m.