2001-05-23

Ode to Nate
I love my friend Nate.

I met him through a friend last summer. Occasional summer Fridays after work, he and a bunch of lovely people meet up on the patio of a happenin' bar downtown. I was invited, and finally got up the nerve to accept.

Have you ever had that 'spark' occur from out of the blue when you met someone you knew was destined to be your friend? That's what happened with Natie. We chattered on like a couple of magpies, dissing the patrons, drinking, joking around. We share the same wavelength.

He emails me with inspirational thoughts. He gives sincere, full-body hugs, not the ones where just your shoulders touch. The phone rings when I seem to need it the most. His comments can bring on the tears or some much-needed raucous laughter. It's all good.

He's all good.

Thanks, hun.

Posted at 11:16 a.m.