2001-05-10

More Flippin' Moaning
Man. I'm surrounded by individuals with a Mob Mentality lately. My poor sensitive psyche is taking a beating, not to mention my colon. Okay, I realize that last bit could probably be filed under the category of TMI. Sorry.

Work has been a tough slog. Summer releasing of loans is the worst. You'd think that September would be filled with tension, but you'd be wrong. September is a blur of loan documents and Confirmations of Enrolment. May is rife with kids who didn't cut the mustard during the school year and are trying to catch up during the summer with Individual Studies. In my experience, they just want the loans to continue so they don't have to go out and seek gainful employment. But don't quote me on that.

Tonight we are off to the Home Depot to get that lovely white wire shelving to complete the new pantry. Nine o'clock last night I was putting the finishing touches to the paint job (Laurel Hill green). One complete wall is cedar, so it smells nice and looks good to boot. I know it's just a pantry, but I'm so excited I can't tell you! We roughed it into an area in the back room that was nothing but wasted space, drywalled, stuccoed, wired, and painted it. Now, in my best Martha Stewart imitation, I will fill it with see-through containers of pasta, cereal, baking items, linens, vases and my industrial strength Kitchen Aid. And I will be happy and fulfilled.

There are times when I think it's sad what makes me happy. (?)

I ate Vietnamese today. Bbq pork, spring roll, rice noodles and two shrimp rolls. I can't believe I'm so full. It's a good thing my electronic calorie pedometer is in the mail. A new gadget = a short-term commitment to fitness. Whoohoo. I might even get on board with Gillian Boardman and her "Walking" thread over at ThreeWayAction.com

Mother's Day is Sunday, don't forget. Mom spends it each year with her Mom, and I host the in-laws. If any of them saw what the house looks like this moment, they would all pitch in to get me a Molly Maid gift certificate under the guise of it being Potentially Mother's Day for me. But that's another story for another time.

I have ordered a 10-pound pork roast, since they love the way I do it *bow, bow, acknowledge the crowd*, and my neice Jennifer, the militant veg-head, will have to make due with teriyaki chicken.

For dessert, I suspect they will all dig heartily in to my Spice Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting. There are times when I'm truly happy, and those times are when everyone stops talking and chows down on something I made.

Okay, that's it. I'm so full I'm uncomfortable. At my age, you think I would know better than to stuff myself like a pig. I expect it will be a lesson that I learn later rather than sooner. So sue me, I love food...

One more day left in this dismal week. Not one day has been scheduled for me to be at my own desk, and I miss it. I think that HR Counselling job is calling out for a resume. I just have to get up the nerve. Send me all your good "Fabulous, Fulfilling, Creative, Friendly Job" vibes, will you? Ta.

Posted at 2:35 p.m.