2001-04-27

Nothing But Blue Skies
The older I get, the less it takes to make me happy. I just got back from taking a lovely drive to pick up my dry cleaning over lunch. The sky was a gorgeous shade of blue (no clouds, just the way I like it), and you could feel spring in the air. I mean, I know it's spring and all, but some days it's more pronounced than others. I rolled down the window, cranked up the radio, put on my shades, and drove.

After I paid the bill at Canada's Cleaners ($31! what the --?), I figured I needed to get me some grub. Immediately, the regular favorites sprang to mind, but I shooed them away. It was a beautiful day and I wanted something different.

Sushi. That's what I want. (Sung to the tune of "Money"). Mt. Fuji was just up the road, and I hadn't darkened their doorstep since they opened almost six months ago. So in I went. The tiny Japanese woman hostess was very helpful, and I ended up settling on a California Roll and an order of Tempura Scallops. Yum. While I was waiting for my order, a whopping ten minutes, I popped over to the Becker's to scout the magazine racks. The newest issue of Real Simple was out, so I snapped that puppy up right away.

Blue sky. Japanese takeout. Real Simple. You're looking at a happy girl.

(Just don't ask me if I've made up my mind about the job situation. No, don't ask me. I'm not kidding, I don't know.)

Posted at 1:02 p.m.