2001-04-26

Better the Devil You Know...?
How on earth do people make up their minds to leave a job? How do they know that the job they are about to take is 'the' job for them? You are looking at one stressed individual.

I told you about the job interview I went on. Well, from the sounds of it, it was a done deal. I began to mentally make plans to tell my boss and co-workers that I would be leaving them. However, being the paranoid girlie that I am, I didn't want to say anything until I had their proposal in my hands. That has not yet happened.

Add to that the fact that I had a meeting with my boss yesterday, and found out that my revamped job description will include mostly working on the electronic application side of the office (i.e. working less and less with the kids), and I was floored. That was exactly what I had wanted to happen since I started this job almost two years ago.

Now I'm stumped. And torn. And agitated.

I've got my tonsillectomy coming up in less than five weeks, and I need two weeks off to recover. Not a good thing to mention to a new employer. I also have two years logged in here already, and that would bode well for me to go off on maternity leave. (Did I mention that T wants to be a Dad a whole lot lately?). I'm less and less sure I want to be a Mom these days, but that's another story for another time.

Have I also mentioned that I suck at making decisions? Where to have dinner, what to wear, what program to watch on television, it's all torture for me. And the odds are that if I'm forced to make the choice, it usually ends up being the wrong one. At least I'm batting a thousand in something :)

So, to beat a subject to death, I'm at a crossroads.

I'll keep you posted.

Posted at 12:53 p.m.