2001-04-18

Bring on the Percocet and Pudding
I'm spiraling down.

Lack of sleep is making my reality blur, my head spin, my stomach churn and my manner reduce to that of the beings you thought of as a child when you heard about ogres that lived under bridges. I've retreated to the living room chesterfield at night, so I can sleep on an incline and maybe keep my throat open a little more. Left to my own devices, I will take my down-filled pillow and my stuffed bear (I heard that!) and position myself as if I were in my own coffin, hands arranged just so on my chest, around my bear. After about 10 minutes, I will proceed to Step Two: twisting myself into a pretzel. I end up every morning on my stomach, my back spasming as I try to straighten out, odd sounds emitting from me as I roll this way and that, stretching and pulling. My back deserves better.

As my surgery date looms, I find myself actually looking forward to going under the knife. Not one to ever run in the direction of pain, I'm dumbfounded. Then, I realize that this is my one shot at a full, quiet, oxygen-enhanced night's sleep, and the mystery is solved.

Posted at 11:57 a.m.