2001-04-17

Looking in the Mirror
The funeral went well, if I can phrase it that way and have you know how I mean it. You probably don't, do you? You hardly know me. What I mean is, the service went on for over an hour, but we hardly noticed. There were more than 10 ulogies by everyone from his son to his cardiologist. It was a true celebration of life.

We noticed as we were moving from the chapel to the reception room that it had begun to snow. Instead of being grumpy about it, as we are wont to do when we feel "spring has sprung, let's see some sun!", his kids laughed and joked how this must be Dad's doing, since he always loved the cold weather.

This particular funeral was value-added, yes it was, yes it was. I felt my inner voice chastising me for being such a Gloomy Gus lately. My Sleep Apnea is a large part of it, I realize, but it's not like it's a life-threatening ailment. I'm horribly sleep deprived, and it leads to myriad other ills, but it's nothing that will lead to my untimely death. It may shorten my life by a few years, but you could say the same thing about the occasional smoke I sneak, or the bacon I eat on Saturday mornings. Hell, how about the water I drink?

I sat, eating a tea sandwich, contemplating my life. It's not what I thought it would be, but it could be considerably worse. I should put on a smile and make the best of it. Maybe that smile will parlay each day into something better than it started out to be. Maybe I will smile at the right person, and that will lead to a spontaneous conversation and that will lead to a job interview which will lead to the best job I ever had.......that, or I won't get so many stress headaches.

Either way.

Posted at 2:49 p.m.