2001-04-11

New Digs and Tonsils
I made a really good joke about going to the Texaco to use their facilities this morning. Do they even have Texacos anymore? I can't for the life of me remember the last time I saw one. I guess it just seemed funnier than saying "...so, I would probably have to go to the Petro-Can!" It doesn't have the same laugh-factor, somehow.

So, our office is moving. With or without me.

My Manager finally unveiled the plans about 20 minutes ago. We will be taking the space that used to house a small cafeteria just across the hall. I wonder if we will still be able to smell the ghosts of a thousand pizzas?

It might all be a moot point, since I'm thinking that if I get offered the HR job I interviewed for yesterday, I will take it. It may not be what I want to do for the rest of my life, but I have to think of it as The Lesser of Two Evils. Dealing with some of the union Prima Donnas in this office is getting my colon all in a twist.

I'm so tired. Droopy-eyes tired. I guess now is a good time to tell you that I've been diagnosed with Obstructive Sleep Apnea. The night I had the Sleep Clinic, I stopped breathing 115 times in a little over six hours. It's little wonder I am so fatigued all the time. Oh, and the headaches. Brutal. It's also known to cause hypertension and obesity. Check and check.

One of the medical treatments for this condition is to have my tonsils out. Well, okay, but don't Adult Tonsillectomies hurt like hell? They do? Well, okay, but isn't there some other way to cure this? A CPAP machine? Hooked up to me every night for the rest of my life? Not an attractive option.

So, I've got the appointment with the best E.N.T man in the city. June 1. Two weeks of intense pain, limited speech, drugs, ice cream, being waited on, wearing jammies, snuggled under duvets, DVD-fests....hey, there seems to be a silver lining to all this. AND, 85% of those who get the operation are fixed. Good odds.

3:24 p.m.

I can't concentrate. I'm getting a headache. I'm also reading "Why Web Journals Suck: An Essay" at nobody-knows-anything.com It's scary.

I'll just have to be grateful I keep a stock of Aleve in my desk, and look forward to getting my hair done at 5:15 tonight. Whoohoo.

Posted at 1:33 p.m.