2001-08-01

~Misery Loves Company~

"I have my good moments. Taking action about my feelings has made me feel better. I've been nicer to people. I've tried to be more pleasant. I've tried to work on my appearance again. But those are band-aids on the real problems, which are low self-esteem, insecurity, and fear. Band-aids inevitably come loose after a few days. Mine came loose tonight."

As I read Nicole this morning, I was struck by what similar creatures we are. Her entries make me mist up on a regular basis. I can't wait to see how she proceeds with her life, and how her decisions will turn out.

I've been meandering through my life for so long now, it might be a good idea to take a few cues from Nic. In my case, I guess you can add 'lack of clear direction' to her list.

It's not a problem of knowing what I'm capable of, it may simply be the fact that I've really never been in the right place at the right time. Networking isn't something I do well; I suspect those I mingle with and try to cultivate working relationships with see right through me.

For a time, I sold advertising space. I worked in Human Resources. My fear is that I am too genuine and sincere to succeed in either of these fields. I neither understand, nor do I condone office politics. My inability to be an ass-kissing hypocrite has lost me more than one position.

At least I can still sleep at night.

So, you can see that I'm attemtping to work out why I fail in certain areas of my life by myself; I may need a counsellor for the rest.

Wow. That's a scary thought. Maybe for now I'll just stick to reading Nic...

What's that girl up to??


Reading: Still on Eden Close by Anita Shreve. It's compelling reading, folks.

Links:Code Red is making everyone jumpy

Buying: A new toe ring. Sterling silver with a row of leaping dolphins.



[�Have some serious time to kill? Go here for discussions on anything from Politics to PCs and Peripherals to Petty Bitching (that last one was my creation).�]



Posted at 10:14 a.m.